Legacy by Wilde Blue Sky

Summary

Why is Michael Holsmann, a right-wing thug, searching the German countryside for details of a flight that left Berlin on the 28th April 1945? Why are the neo-Nazis so interested in a struggling penniless artist called Peter Fritch? Read this tale of identity and betrayal to find out.

This is a work of fiction. Names, characters, places, brands, media, and incidents are either the product of the author’s imagination or are used fictitiously.

Characters

Michael is a single-minded jerk. Peter a spineless outcast. Most of the characters felt a little flat at first…mostly because they are described to you and not well rounded. That is until I started thinking of this more of a historical alternative, written in a more factual tone. My favorite character was Ola, because she was the catalyst and for other reasons that I can’t detail without giving the plot away.

Plot

I decided to try something different and boy is this different but also interesting. It is really important to remember this is a work of fiction. I don’t want to give too much away, but the entire premise is fascinating. I appreciated the way the author portrayed the characters, and built up the tension. I’m a pretty open minded person so the entire context, while could offend some, really was just showing that a certain way of thinking was self destructive and what can happen after a power is ousted.

Overall

The writing is dry, but consistently so. The characters took a while to form but they felt distinct after a while. A little over the top in their speech at time. My biggest problem was everyone seemed to talk out loud to themselves. Once or twice, okay, but there were more than 5 times that characters talked to themselves.

I also wasn’t sure the point of the last chapter. I would have preferred it if was just left off, like a mystery, but the last chapter sort of tied it up in a too perfect bow. That being said, the concepts and idealist views were well captured. I followed the logic, and illogical portions, of the characters beliefs. I could easily see it being a nod to what happens in other areas around the world – the old way doesn’t let go so easily. From segregation to political parties, change may come but not everyone changes. It is slow and it is hard. I appreciated that aspect of this story, it reminded me of this very idea.

Rating

3.5 stars (rounded up)

It makes you think, what if? I always appreciate a story that makes you wonder. However, I struggled with some of the scenes and the writing was very textbook (informative, but flat). If you like alternative histories or even a ‘what if’ theory, this is a great read.

I received a copy in exchange of a honest review.

Leave a Reply

