Hart of His (Cale & Mickey #2) by Annie Arcane

Summary

Moving in with Mickey Hart has taught me a few lessons.

523 square feet is really f*cking small. Sharing a bathroom is the worst idea ever when you’re a damn paraplegic. Never lie, no matter what. And one more thing…

I’m madly in love with this girl.

Warning: Strong language, mature content, drama, and angst included. Shirt sold separately.

This novella is an adult contemporary romance featuring a disabled hero who (still) happens to be a rich and sexy alpha male with a potty mouth.

Cale and Mickey: Book 2 of 4

Characters

It has been a while since I read the first book and it was nice to see Mickey and Cale again. They are very awesome flawed characters. Stubborn but sweet. Stupid but witty. Even with a second book, the characters stayed true to what I remembered about them and it was like meeting up with old friends and having them tell me what has been going on lately. I was also happy to see Cale’s brother has a few snippets in there too! Gotta love those sibling quibbles.

Plot

After the events of book 1, Cale and Mickey have moved in together. Life goes on but not without some bumps. That is what this book is all about: Bumps. Cale is still a butt-head and Mickey is still nearly unflappable. This is really about Cale coming to terms with what he wants for him and Mickey. He wants things a very specific way but Mickey isn’t going to just let him have his way – because, as previously stated, he is a butt-head.

Overall

The plot was a little jerky. I didn’t always follow what was happening from one chapter to another. At one point I was so confused that I went back and had to reread the end and the beginning – and I still wasn’t sure. Despite a few head scratches, the characters were wonderfully written. I found myself chuckling more than once. One of the many reasons why I finishing reading this is in just two days – most could probably do it in one.

Rating

4 Stars

This is a solid 4 stars. If you read the first book –  you will certainly enjoy the second one. If you haven’t read the first one but like the idea of this novella – go back – the first book was great!

I received a copy in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

