2016 in Review – Best Reads

2016 Reading Stats

Goal for 2016: 25

Number of books read: 45

Number of books reviewed: 44

Best Books of 2016:

1st place goes to:

They Mostly Come Out at Night (5 Stars)

Patrick, Benedict – They Mostly Come Out at Night (Fantasy) (Review) (Amazon)

Here is why: This book absolutely blew me away. It was one of those books that start out completely innocuous and by the time you realize it is amazing, it floors you. It rocked my world – I couldn’t stop talking about it for days and have recommended it countless people. It is a fairytale that the Grimm brothers would be proud of – this is a must read for all adults who like fantasy.

FYI the second one is out (not a sequal just the same world) and I am STOCKED to read it!

2nd place goes to:

Proving

Brosky, Ken – The Proving (YA Sci-Fi) (Review) (Amazon)

Here is why: This book is heads and shoulders above all of the other sci-fi’s I read this year. Some were great, don’t get me wrong, but this one took my socks off. I love the characters, loved the concept, loved the writing, and the overall plot was excellent. It is a little scary for middle schoolers but anyone 14+ who likes Sci-fi needs to read this book. I find myself recommending it all the time.

3rd place goes to:

Jurassic Park

Crichton, Michael – Jurassic Park (Urban Sci-Fi) (Review) (Amazon)

I love Michael Crichton. He is one of my go to authors. I really enjoyed reading Jurassic Park and it really amazed me to read this and compare differences with the movies and the books. I’ve wanted to read this for years and it is really a book everyone should read as adults. If you love the movies, the first book is a must read!

Best Crime (Mystery/Suspense):

Cover

Mayer, Dale – Tuesday’s Child (Mystery) (Review) (Amazon)

Loved this mystery. For sure a darker one but great!

Best Erotica:

Eronica

Vaughn, Scarlett – Eronica Unbound (Erotica) (Review)

There is a plot…silly…but the steamy scenes are impressive!

Best Fantasy:

They Mostly Come Out at Night (5 Stars)

Patrick, Benedict – They Mostly Come Out at Night (Fantasy) (Review) (Amazon)

Just yes.

Best Romance:

hart-broken

Arcane, Annie – Hart Broken (Contemporary Romance) (Review) (Amazon)

Very realistic romance. Hits you in the feels!

Best Sci-Fi:

the-martian

Weir, Andy – The Martian (Sci-fi) (Review) (Amazon)

Hilarious and educational.

 

 

Best Short Story:

Spinnings

Thorpe, Marian L. – Spinnings (Short Story – Fantasy) (Review) (Amazon)

I loved this collection of stories. Very fascinating!

Best Urban (anything):

Jurassic Park

Crichton, Michael – Jurassic Park (Urban Sci-Fi) (Review) (Amazon)

A must read for the dinosaur lover.

Best Young Adult:

Proving

Brosky, Ken – The Proving (YA Sci-Fi) (Review) (Amazon)

Really for all ages but amazing. If this could win two categories it would win for sci-fi too.

Best Wattpad:

Some Like it Ruthless (Book Review)

Some Like it Ruthless by Megan Bryce (Review) (Amazon)

I love Megan Bryce. Period.

One thought on “2016 in Review – Best Reads

  1. Annie Arcane says:

    *GASPS*
    *speechless*
    *gathers self*

    Wow! Thank you!! 😘

    Annnd They Mostly Come Out at Night is totally going on my TBR list, even though it’s waaay outta my preference. Super duper excited to read it!!

Leave a Reply

