A Sense of Discovery By Martin Perks

Summary

When Garry’s mother dies, he’s devastated. It’s not only her death, but her last words to him. He embarks on a search to uncover the truth. What follows is a dangerous journey. A journey full of unforeseen pitfalls, which could ultimately put both his life, and the lives of his whole family in jeopardy.

Characters

In this book there are lots of characters that matter, but the most important two is Garry and Delia. Garry and Delia are both distinct characters. They were interesting and easy to invest in. Even though Garry is dense more than a few times – almost to the point that he is idiotic. It becomes worse as the book goes on and I question a lot of the decisions being made as believable.

Plot

This is a laughable plot. It was straight out of some soap opera. It was WAY over the top and there were so many hints that it became predictable. Since it is a suspense I don’t want to ruin it, but I wasn’t surprised by anything. That being said if you love over the top thrillers, you’ll love this. I like watching a soup opera every once in a while and laughing at how over the top it is – plot and acting. This just had me baffled by how surreal/weird it all was.

Overall

The first 25% of the book could have been condensed down into 2 chapters. There was simply too much detail to be enjoyable. There were a few errors here and there, some interrupted the flow but it wasn’t atrocious. The characters were why I stuck with it. Even when I knew what the ending was going to be, I decided to stick with it. Luckily the next 50% of the book was much better. The last 25% I was resigned to reading.

Despite that I actually didn’t completely hate it. I didn’t like it but I didn’t dislike it either. I was kind of stuck on the rail the entire time. I had to be careful not to skip ahead because it took so long to get to a point.

Rating

2.5 Stars

I did like aspects of it and totally hated other aspects. I would recommend this to those who like over the top thrillers – you love Telenovela and/or Soap Operas, then this is your cup of tea in book form. The droll writing at the beginning is what tipped me back from giving this a round 3 star rating. If you need everything explained to you, step by step, you’ll like this book.

I received a copy in exchange of an honest review.

Leave a Reply

