Jurassic Park by Michael Crichton

Summary

An astonishing technique for recovering and cloning dinosaur DNA has been discovered. Now humankind’s most thrilling fantasies have come true. Creatures extinct for eons roam Jurassic Park with their awesome presence and profound mystery, and all the world can visit them—for a price.

Until something goes wrong. . . .

Characters

I loved Alan Grant in the movies and I love Alan Grant in the books and they are totally different people. Regardless it makes for a great character to follow. Ian Malcolm has a tendency to ramble on, in the beginning I loved it but as the book wore on and he became more random, I was less interested but still fascinated by the content. Ellie Sattler is also a great character in general. She mostly stays out of most of the action but when it is her time to shine she does well!

The kids were much different but still likable – even when annoying! The most shocking thing for me since I was younger when the movies came out, was John Hammond. In the movies he is this short of hopeful, lovable grandfather type – not so in the books. Total megalomaniac and narcissist. It was the most starling part of the book actually, it was hard to merry the memory of the film with this character in the book. Movie watchers beware of this shift.

Plot

If you don’t know Jurassic Park you are either Amish (no offense) or didn’t own a TV. Despite knowing most of the story it was still amazing. If it hadn’t become a famous movie I have no doubt it would have continued to be popular on its own. Who doesn’t like dinosaurs? What makes it even better is the science! I loved this in Timeline as well.

Overall

Another masterpiece. Totally worth the read! I don’t think I need to say anything else.

Rating

5 stars

On a side note: There were a surprising amount of grammatical/spelling errors in the book. It was really shocking how many I found in the version I purchased since it is such a widely read and famous book. It wasn’t enough to ruin the book but I was surprising.

2 thoughts on “Jurassic Park by Michael Crichton

  1. Karandi says:

    Hard to picture John Hammond that way but sounds like a good read. I normally avoid books if I’ve already seen the movie but occasionally they are different enough to warrant the read. Thanks for sharing.

  2. syddent says:

    I had read the book before the movie was made. I was impressed that the movie managed to stay fairly true to the spirit of the book. I was warned when I started reading that I should expect to do nothing once I reach the last 150 pages or so. I would have to be dead to put the book down…they were right.

Leave a Reply

