It’s that time again! NaNoWriMo!

As I have done for the last 2 years, I am doing again this year. NaNoWriMo, the month of November is full of thanksgiving cheer, the first nipping of winter chill, and the click-clack of the keys on my keyboard as I try to get to those 50,000 words. I like to consider it my warrior cry as my cat purrs in my lap. Two years running I haven’t gotten to the 50,000 words but last year I did something more important. I meet fellow writers, I mentored a few young aspiring writers, and it felt amazing!!!

Last year I had my own internal goal to be a little more serious in November and start a new novel. I finished that novel a few months later and am planning (at this time) to publish it in the fall of 2017. Keep an eye open for sample chapters of The Sixth Gate. They should be posted in the next month or so.

On that note I am an plotter. I usually have key points or a full outline before starting. I wish I could say that this year is going to be any different but it is not. Once a plotter always a plotter. I plot the other all bits and arcing ideas but after that I let my imagination fly. In other words I:

Which makes writing so much fun!

So if there are any NaNoWriMo-ers out there who want to connect feel free to leave a comment on this post and I’ll add you. Or if you prefer you can hunt me down. My username is Katherine13342 and I welcome fellow writers and those who feel they want guidance from someone who knows how to finish books. And if you are a panster instead of a plotter I can help you when you get stuck. And for those of you who hate plotters, well just consider this:

I even draw maps sometimes. Just so I have a road map for my world and I don’t make a mistake along the way. Continuity is critical to believably. On that wondrous note. I look forward to NaNoWriMo. I may be going rebel *gasp* and working on my sequel to The Sixth Gate or I might start working on An Honest Intent since I am only one chapter in. Unfortunately this November finds me right in the middle of a story I don’t think I want to stop for.

So I’ll probably be focusing on mentoring and connecting. Please connect! I want to hear all about your NaNoWriMo book or get you to the point that you have a basic outline. If you aren’t to that point of writing this November, I am also available to just talk shop – what are  you thinking about writing about or what do you want to work on all year in anticipation of next NaNoWirMo?

2 thoughts on “It’s that time again! NaNoWriMo!

  1. Ryn says:

    I’m looking forward to NaNoWriMo 2015, too! My username is katastrophic88. Good luck with your planning (I’m a planning pantser — er, pantser that plans?). See you at the starting gate!

Leave a Reply

